Graves County Fiscal Court Logo


1102 Paris Rd. Suite 2
Mayfield, KY 42066

8:00 A.M. – 4:30 P.M.
Monday – Friday

Graves County Government

1824. Kentucky General Assembly

Chapter DCX – An ACT to establish the county of Graves. Approved, December 17, 1823

Section 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, that the county of Graves, bounded as described in the eighth section of an act forming the counties of Hickman, Graves, Calloway and McCracken, on the south west of Tennessee river, approved December 19th one thousand eight hundred and twenty-one, be, from and after the fifteenth day of January next, one distinct county called and known by the name aforesaid.

Section 2. There shall be commissioned for said county, ten justices of the peace, a sheriff and coroner, and the said justices of the peace shall meet at the town of Mayfield, laid off by the commissioners appointed by the before recited act, on the Thursday succeeding the second Monday in January next, and after taking the oaths of office, which may be administered by any acting justice of the peace for Calloway county, shall proceed to appoint a clerk to whose permanent appointment a majority of all the justices in commission in said county shall be necessary; and the county courts of said county thereafter, shall commence on the Thursday succeeding the second Monday in every month, except those months in which the circuit courts are directed to be held. The said county shall form a part of the seventh judicial district, and the judge of the said district shall by himself or in conjunction with the assistant judges to be appointed by this act, hold circuit courts for said county on the Thursday succeeding the second Mondays in February, May and November in each year, and continue three juridical days at each term if the business shall require it.

Sign Up for Alerts from
Graves County Emergency Management